6A [Broken to Harness] New ed . 1 vol. Routledge, n.d. [1879 or earlier].
30A [Black Sheep] New ed, 1 vol. Routledge, n.d. [l879 or earlier].
35A [The Rock Ahead] New ed. 1 vol. Routledge, n.d. [l879 or earlier].
45A [The Yellow Flag] New ed. 1 vol. Routledge, n.d. [1879 or earlier].
47A [A Waiting Race] New ed. 1 vol. Routledge, n.d. [1879 or earlier].
55A [The Impending Sword] Serialized: The Home Journal, 2 (20 Dec 1873)-4 (22 Aug 1874).
71 Now sighted. American reprint of TheImpending Sword (item 56).
II COLLECTIONS OF SHORTER FICTION . . .
75 After ‘Out of Town’, add (Rpt. from The Illustrated Times, 11 Sep 1858). After ‘The Night Attack’, add ‘Ghosts in Brick’ (Rpt. from The Welcome Guest, 1, no. 4, 1860). After ‘A Christmas Carol’, add (Poem). After ‘Sunday in London’, add (Rpt. from The Train, July 1856).
76 Delete ‘and adds “Ghosts in Brick” . . . no. 4, I860).’
77 Now sighted. After title, add 2 vols. Add: [Dedicated to William Henry Wills, ’at whose suggestion most of the essays herein contained were written’. Wills was assistant editor of Household Words and All the Year Round. Contains introduction and 35 sketches.]
III SHORTER FICTION – UNCOLLECTED
84A ’Storm-Bound’, Christmas number of Tinsley’s Magazine, 1(1867):1-5,128. Signed. [Yates’s contributions are Introduction and Conclusion.]
88A ‘In the Dead of Night; a Ghost Story’, in the ‘Christmas Feuilleton’ of The World, 26 Dec 1877, pp.7-10.
88B ‘A Week with the Mahdi’. Christmas number of The World, 27 Nov 1884. [Unsigned except for editorial interpolations (signed Atlas). Includes several pieces of light verse.]
108A ’A Continental Run’. Illustrated Times, 7(18 Sep 1858):203.
108B ’Mr. Planché.. Illustrated Times, 8(8 Jan 1859). Rpt. in The Extravaganzas of J.R. PlanchS, Esqed. T.F. Dillon Croker and Stephen Tucker. London: Samuel French, 1875, 5:312-14.
109 Delete I have not found . . . place of publication. Substitute The poem is quoted, as an ’epigram’ by a man called Yolland, in Yates’s novel A Waiting Race, 1872, 1:178. A cutting of it, signed, is in the scrapbook kept by Yates’s son Edmund Smedley Yates, but with no indication what journal it had appeared in.
111,112 Delete Original place . . . not found. Substitute [Rpt. from Temple Bar,Feb 1862, pp.326-8, and July 1861, pp.472-4, respectively. Signed.]
112A ‘Then – and Now’. Temple Ba 19(Mar 1867): 29-30. [Signed.]
112B ‘Ad Ceciliam’, Temple Bar, 19(Mar 1867):29-30. [Signed.]
113 [‘A Premiere at the Prince of Wales’]. This poem appeared in The World on 16 Jan 1878, p.14.
113A,B, ‘A Beauty’; ‘It’s a singular fact’; ‘A C,D Pertinent Question’; ‘The Colours of Coquettes’. The World. [Cuttings of these four poems are in the scrapbook kept by Yates’s son, Edmund Smedley. ‘A Beauty’ appeared on 7 Oct 1874, p.297; but the scrapbook does not give any date for the other three poems.]
119A After the Ball. Comedy. First performed at the Royal Gallery of Illustration, 28 Apr 1858. [Listed in Allardyce Nicoll, A History of English Drama, 5:635.]
119B Good for Nothing. Farce. By Yates and N.H. Harrington. First performed at the Adelphi, 27 Dec 1858. [Listed in Nicoll, loc.cit.]
122A The Golden Daggers. Drama. First performed at the Princess, 19 Apr 1862. [Listed in Nicoll, loc.cit.]
123A ‘Mr. Webster’s Company is requested at a photographic Soiree’. Farce. First performed at the Adelphi, 27 Dec 1862. [Listed in Nicoll, pp.722,841.]
128 [The Train]. Now sighted. The final issue appeared in June 18 58. All contributions were signed. Yates had three sketches under his own name in vol. I (Jan-June 1856) and three in vol. II (July-Dee 1856). ‘Respectable People’ (April 1856, pp.238-41) was later reprinted in part in Town Talk (6 June 1858, p.96) without any acknowledgment of its previous publication. ‘Sunday in London’ (July 1856, pp.55-9) was later reprinted in After Office-Hours: see item 75 above. Among the subjects of the series ‘Men of Mark’, written by Yates, were W.H. Russell (April 1857), Wilkie Collins (June 1857), Millais (July 1857), and Shirley Brooks (Sep 1857).
129 [Town Talk.] Now sighted. The magazine is listed in the BM Cat. It ran from 8 May 1858 to 14 Nov 1859. A par in the number for 19 June 1858, p.76 deplored pernicious rumours about the reasons for Dickens’s separation from his wife. However, a later par (25 Sep 1858, p.245) sneered at his own account of his motives and described the whole affair as ‘very repugnant’. The first was presumably written by Yates, the second by someone else.
132 [The World.] After ‘See also under I NOVELS’, add III SHORTER FICTION, IV. ii VERSE-Uncollected, and. The article on Trollope (24- Feb 1882) was signed, as were a number of Yates’s other contributions. The pseudonym ‘Atlas’ was associated not only with his own contributions but also with the column ‘What the World Says’ which began on 7 Oct 1874 and was still running when Yates died in 1894, and which consisted of pars by a variety of hands including his own. Many articles in which Yates is obviously speaking in his own person are signed ‘Edmund Yates’ or ‘E.Y.’. Some (but not all) of the poems and other items signed ‘X’ (Greek ’E’) may have been by Yates.
166A Bath Reference Library
ALS to Mr Montgomery, dated 8 Apr 1894 from Cannes.
168,169, 171 Now sighted
171A University of California at Los Angeles Library
ALS to George Bentley, 19 May 1882. [The Archives of Richard Bentley and Son 1829-1898. Microfilm, Cambridge: Chadwyck-Healey, 1976, Part III.]
173A Huntington Library (cont.)
27 ALS and 7 postcards, 1860-C.1890. [Recipients include E.S. Pigott (13 ALS and 7 postcards), Frances Power Cobbe, John Hollingshead (4 ALS, 1860-83), and Harry Furniss.]
173B John Rylands Library
2 ALS to W.F. Tillotson, 9 Feb 1874 and 14 May 1875, and 1 to ‘My dear Lucy’, 17 Dec 187 9. Tillotson’s Fiction Bureau Archive.
X REVIEWS OF YATES’S…PLAYS
185A Good for Nothing [Play. 119B] Times, 28 Dec 18 58, p.7.
185B and C The Golden Daggers [Play. 122A] Athenaeum, 1800(26 Apr 1862):569; Times, 21 Apr 1862, p.7. [Both reviews credit Charles Fechter with joint-authorship of the play; Allardyce Nicoll gives Yates as sole author.]
XI BIOGRAPHICAL AND CRITICAL SOURCES
226A Adrian, Arthur A. Mark Lemon; First Editor of Punch. London: OUP, 1966, passim.
237A Escott, T.H.S. England; Its People, Polity,and Pursuits. 2 vols. London: Cassell, Petter, Galpin, [1879H, 2:402-3.
237B ——. Society in London. By a Foreign Resident. London: Chatto, 1885, pp.292-3.
243A ——. Great Victorians. London: Fisher Unwin, 1916, pp.345-7. [This contains a further denial that Mrs Hoey had written any of Yates’s novels.]
249A Frith, W.P. My Autobiography and Reminiscences. New ed., London: Bentley, 1888, p.476.
250A Furniss, Harry. Some Victorian Women; Good, Bad, and Indifferent. London: Bodley Head, 1923, pp.9,139-41.
254A Hamilton, Cosmo. Unwritten History. Hutchinson, 1924, pp.27-8.
254B ——. People Worth Talking About. Hutchinson, 1934, pp.158-63.
256A Herd, Harold. A Press Gallery. London: Fleet Publications, 1958, pp.101-12.
260A Mackay, Margaret. The Violent Friend; the Story of Mrs. Robert Louis Stevenson. NY: Doubleday, 1968, p.184. [This is the source of the story about RLS referred to on pp.9-10 above.]
261A Maxwell, W.B. Time Gathered. London, Hutchinson, 1937, passim.
266A Robertson-Scott, J.W. The Story of the Pall Mall Gazette. London: OUP, 1950, pp.143-5,240.
266B Pearse, H.H.S. Obituary, The Sketch, 30 May 1894, p.223.
275A Stillman, W.J. The Autobiography of a Journalist. London: Grant Richards, 1901, 2:101-104.
285 After ‘Cited in DNB‘, add The author was Henry Labouchere.
292 Worth, George J. “‘Popular Culture” and the Seminal Books of 1859’, Victorian Newsletter, 19(Spring 1961):24-7. [Discusses reviews and other items in the Illustrated Times; including a number by Yates (cf. item 139 above).]
[Item 69] “A Bad Lot” also serialized in Birmingham Morning News in 1873, according to: MURRAY. David Christie. Recollections. London: John Long: 1908. pp 189-90
Tillotson records show that Yates signed an agreement to write a 28-part serial for £300 (for UK new spaper serial rights) for Tillotsons Fiction Bureau on 27 Jan 1875 (Bolton Evening News Archive. ZBEN/4/4) though the contract seems not to have been fulfilled (see Tillotson Notebook A, Bodleian Library)